Captain of the France team: Deschamps reveals the names

Captain of the France team Deschamps reveals the names

With the retirements of Hugo Lloris and Raphaël Varane, Didier Deschamps will have to find a new captain.

Most capped player in the history of the France team, Hugo Lloris, captain of the Blues, has decided to retire, leaving the prestigious captain’s armband vacant. Against the Netherlands on March 24, Didier Deschamps will therefore have to establish a new captain and several names are circulating. During his interview with Le Parisien et Figaro, the current coach explained that several players could claim the armband like Kylian Mbappe, vice captain of PSG and Antoine Griezmann, but that the consultation will be done with them. “I know who can and cannot be (he smiles). I would have discussions with some of them. I am ahead of you because you are going to ask me the question: is Kylian (Mbappé ) can be Yes of course. Antoine Griezmann can also be in relation to his experience. The decision will be made during the March internship. I want to hear the feelings of the players concerned.”

In a survey published by L’Equipe in January 2023 after the world Cup36% of respondents wanted to see Kylian Mbappé as the next captain, ahead of Antoine Griezmann 30%, Raphael Varane 28% while 6% hope to see another player wear the armband. If Kylian Mbappé and Antoine Griezmann are considered the big favorites, let’s not forget a Olivier Giroud who wants to play until Euro 2024 and who became the Blues’ top scorer during the 2022 World Cup.

The list of captains of the France team

  • 1904-1905: Fernand Canelle
  • 1905-1908: Pierre Alemane
  • 1910-1914: Jean Ducret
  • 1920-1922: Lucien Gamblin
  • 1922-1925: Raymond Dubly
  • 1925-1930: Paul Nicolas
  • 1930: Alexander Villaplane
  • 1930-1931: Henri Pavillard
  • 1931-1933: Alex Thepot
  • 1933-1938: Edmond Delfour
  • 1938-1940: Etienne Mattler
  • 1944-1946: Alfred Aston
  • 1946-1948: Oscar Heisserer
  • 1949-1952: Jean Baratte
  • 1952-1959: Roger Marche
  • 1960-1961: Jean-Jacques Marcel
  • 1961-1963: André Lerond
  • 1965-1966: Marcel Artelesa
  • 1967-1969: Bernard Bosquier
  • 1969-1973: Jean Djorkaeff
  • 1972-1973: Claude Quittet
  • 1973-1975: George Bereta
  • 1975-1976: Henri Michel
  • 1976-1979: Marius Treasure
  • 1979-1987: Michel Platini
  • 1987-1988: Luis Fernández
  • 1988 – 1992: Manuel Amoros
  • 1992-1993: Jean-Pierre Papin
  • 1993-1995: Eric Cantona
  • 1995-1996: Rotation of players (Paul Le Guen, Didier Deschamps, Alain Roche, Bernard Lama, Marcel Desailly, Eric Di Meco, Vincent Guérin)
  • 1996-2000: Didier Deschamps
  • 2000-2004: Marcel Desailly
  • 2004-2004: Patrick Vieira
  • 2005-2006: Zinedine Zidane
  • 2006-2008: Patrick Vieira
  • 2008-2010: Thierry Henry
  • 2010: Patrice Evra
  • 2010-2011: Alou Diarra
  • 2011-2022: Hugo Lloris