Strade-Bianche 2023: date and route … Info

Strade Bianche 2023 date and route Info

The route of the Strade-Bianche 2023 on March 4 is identical to that of 2022. Julian Alaphilippe, the 2019 winner will be there.

The classic Strade-Bianche is a race that runners do not want to escape. The almost idyllic setting is an argument in favor of the organizers. On the sporting level, it remains a starting point for the coming season. It is contested in a 184km long race this year. This event is not necessarily suitable for the climber even if last year, it was the essential Tadej Pogacar who won. The Slovenian will however be absent in 2023.

Five former winners should be present on the road: Mathieu van der Poel Zdenek Stybar Tiesj Benoot Michal Kwiatkowski. The fifth is French Julian Alaphilippe who won in 2019. In this same event, he came second in 2021. The native of Saint-Amand-Montrond (Centre-Val-de-Loire) has a new chance of a podium or even victory. He knows the course very well, he has already performed and it is especially important to him to forget the complicated year 2022.

What date for the Strade-Bianche?

The Strade-Bianche classic will take place on Saturday March 4, 2023.

On which channel to follow the Strade-Bianche?

Considered one of the major events of the month of March, the race will be broadcast on Eurosport antennas from 1:50 p.m.

184 km await the runners who will cover Siena and its surroundings. During the loop cyclists will be fully immersed in the Tuscan landscape since it includes passages in villages such as Buoncovento or San Quirico d’Orcia.

Who are the engaged?

Here is the list of the main riders who will be present for the Italian classic.

  • Julian Alaphilippe Mauri Vansevenant, Andrea Bagioli (Soudal-Quick Step)
  • Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck)
  • Tiesj Benoot (Jumbo Visma)
  • Michal Kwiatkowski (INEOS Grenadiers)
  • Zdenek Stybar (Team Jayco AlUla)
  • Tim Wellens (UAE Team Emirates)
  • Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Victorious)
  • Tom Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers)
  • Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)
  • Warren Barguil (Arkéa Samsic)
  • Mathieu Burgaudeau (TotalEnergies)
  • Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious)
  • Aleksandr Vlasov (BORA-hansgrohe)
  • Alberto Bettiol (EF Education-EasyPost)
  • Magnus Sheffield (INEOS Grenadiers)
  • Rui Costa (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty)
  • Jan Tratnik, Attila Valter (Jumbo-Visma)
  • Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo),
  • Alessandro Covi, Davide Formolo UAE Team Emirates

Next March 4 is the 17th edition of the Strade-Bianche. Only one Frenchman has so far won this race. This is Julian Alaphilippe still in the running this year.

  • 2012: Fabian Cancellara
  • 2013: Moreno Moser
  • 2014 : Michal Kwiatkowski
  • 2015 : Zdenek Stybar
  • 2016: Fabian Cancellara
  • 2017: Michal Kwiatkowski
  • 2018: Tiesj Benoot
  • 2019: Julian Alaphilippe
  • 2020: Wout van Aert
  • 2021: Mathieu van der Poel
  • 2022: Tadej Pogacar