Scholarships for winter sports athletes have been distributed | Sport

Scholarships for winter sports athletes have been distributed Sport

The annual winter grant selections have been made. A total of 766,000 euros was awarded to athletes in winter sports.

Minister responsible for sports Sandra Bergqvist has awarded 76 winter sports athletes with an athlete grant.

The largest grant of 20,000 euros was awarded to 13 athletes: Anni Kärävä, Joni Sallinen, Elias Syrjä, Rene Rinnekangas, Perttu Hyvärinen, Jere Inkki Inola, Arttu Kaario, Johanna Matintalo, Joni Mäki, Lauri Vuorinen, Jenny Rautionaho, Ilkka Herola and Eero Hirvonen.

32 athletes received the second largest grant of 10,000 euros, and a grant of 6,000 euros was awarded to 31 athletes.

The purpose of the grants is to secure financial opportunities for athletes for professional preparation so that the athletes can succeed in prestigious international competitions. International screenings, opportunities for success and development of results in relation to the international level are taken into account when the grant is awarded.

The grant is not awarded to athletes whose taxable income or clearly demonstrable competition fees in the latest confirmed taxation (2022) exceed 80,000 euros.

– Athletes in winter sports face the competition season before the Milan-Cortina 2026 Winter Games, when the Olympic and Paralympic quota places in different sports are distributed. That’s why, when considering Winter Sports grants, attention has been paid, along with young people, to the chances of success in the upcoming qualifying competitions, says Minister of Sports, Sports and Youth Bergqvist on the website of the Ministry of Education and Culture.

The Ministry of Education and Culture decided on the grant recipients based on the presentation of the elite sports unit of the Finnish Olympic Committee.

All winter athletes who received a grant on the website of the Ministry of Education and Culture.

Source: Ministry of Education and Culture.

Recipients of a grant of 20,000 euros

Freestyle, somersault and freeski:

Anni Kärävä

Jon Sallinen

Elias Syrjä


Rene Rinnekangas

Cross-country skiing:

Perttu Hyvärinen

Jere Inkki Inola

Arttu Kaario

Johanna Matintalo

Joni Mäki

Lauri Vuorinen

Ski jumping:

Jenny Rautionaho


Ilkka Herola

Eero Hirvonen